Rhyselle's Ramblings

Just another WordPress.com weblog

A few words on prayer by C.S. Lewis

leave a comment »

“And perhaps, as those who do not turn to God in petty trials will have no habit or such resort to help them when the great trials come, so those who have not learned to ask Him for childish things will have less readiness to ask Him for great ones. We must not be too high-minded.  I fancy we may sometimes be deterred from small prayers by a sense of our own dignity rather than God’s.”  –from Letters to Malcolm: Chiefly on Prayer

I was made to think when I read this quote at the top of the page of my journal.  (I have a journal book that has a C.S. Lewis quote at the top of every other page; intended to inspire what goes onto the blank lines of the book.)

Prayer is something that Christ taught we were to do always; to turn to our Heavenly Father in and for all things, but most of us do not.  We pray at church.  We say grace before meals.  We call upon the Lord when things are hard.  But if we don’t make it a habit to turn to Him–even though He knows all that is in our hearts and heads–it is sometimes difficult to find the words, to find the faith within ourselves that helps us to make the connection to communicate fully with God.

Prayer, when done correctly, is work.  Whether I am praying for small things (like for the light to turn green quickly so I won’t be late to a meeting) or large things (like the recovery of a child injured in an auto accident), I should concentrate and focus solely on my communication with Heavenly Father.

It is so hard to do this.

Everything suddenly distracts me; the noise of the traffic on the street, the beep of someone’s cellphone, the scratchy tag at the collar of our shirt, the bright yellow of the box of cookies on the table, the TV’s babble, the music and sound effects of video games in the next room, the feel of the rug under my knees, concerns about if there’s enough milk for the kids to drink for breakfast the next morning, an itch or ringing in the ear, a memory of a conversation that has nothing to do with my petition to God.

I’ve read that it takes eight weeks to build a habit to where it is second nature.

We build habits by small steps.  We stop biting our fingernails one day at a time until we have become strong enough to resist the urge to nibble at them.  We learn to play piano in baby steps, note by note and key by key.  We learn our alphabet one sound or letter at a time until we are able to easily read and write .

So it is with prayer, I’m discovering.  If I practice daily with the small things; thanking God for the blessing of waking up in the morning, asking His grace over our food, and asking His help with the little challenges of the day, I will learn to shut out the distractions of the world and be able to immerse myself into my desire to commune with Heavenly Father in the name of His Son–and it will become a true communion.

In some ways it is easier to pray for help in the case of emergencies like when my daughter was mauled by a dog when she was three years old… they are things so entirely out of our control that throwing them up to God in desperation seems to be the only way to handle it.

I just have to also remember that NOTHING is too trivial for me to bring it to Heavenly Father’s attention.  And that I shouldn’t be so proud that I make the determination as to what would be beneath His notice.  He sees every sparrow that falls.  He hears every word and thought that we say and think.  NOTHING is beneath his notice.

Even my little prayers of gratitude and petition.


Written by Rhyselle

February 21, 2010 at 9:22 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

